07.02.2018 — Baum Quartett receives Berenberg Culture Prize

Hamburg. The 10,000-euro Berenberg Culture Prize went to the Baum Quartett from South Korea, currently studying at the Hamburg School of Music and Theatre. Over 350 guests attended last night’s award ceremony at Hamburg's Elbphilharmonie concert hall.

The Baum Quartett, consisting of Sun Shin (violin), Onyou Kim (violin), Daekyu Han (viola) and Hang-Oh Cho (cello), was founded in Seoul in March 2016. The name Baum (“Tree”) is meant to reflect the beauty of the tree as a unity of its various components, as embodied by its members´ instruments, who are this year’s Culture Prize winners. Currently the Baum Quartett is studying chamber music at the Hamburg School of Music and Theatre (HfMT) under Professor Niklas Schmidt in order to further refine its skills as a string quartett.

 “Baum Quartett wins over audiences with its virtuoso playing and the way the different tonal colours of the instruments meld with one another,” said Trustee Board member Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hermann Rauhe, who awarded the Berenberg Culture Prize together with Dr. Hans-Walter Peters, spokesman of the managing partners of Berenberg, Germany’s oldest private bank.

Scholarships went to recorder player Lilli Pätzold, who is doing her Master’s degree at the HfMT under Professor Peter Holtslag, and organist Nicola Procaccini, who since 2015 has been studying organ at the HfMT under Professor Wolfgang Zerer and cembalo under Professor Menno van Delft.

The Berenberg Bank Foundation of 1990 also supports the International Opera Studio of the Hamburg State Opera House, and has awarded a scholarship to Icelandic baritone Jóhann Kristinsson.

The Berenberg Bank Foundation of 1990 was founded to mark the bank’s 400th anniversary, and each year it awards the Berenberg Culture Prize, one of the most generously endowed new talent awards in North Germany. In addition, the Foundation promotes art education by providing scholarships and project funding. “Hamburg as a cultural metropolis is very important to Berenberg, and so we feel a special responsibility to help young artists and thereby further anchor Hamburg’s reputation as a city of culture,” said Peters. So far over 1 million euros have gone to benefit new cultural talent.

Peters expressed his special thanks to both Trustee Board members Katharina Trebitsch (film producer) and Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hermann Rauhe (Honorary President of the HfMT) who have supported the work of the Foundation since its inception; together with the two other Trustee Board members Prof. Elmar Lampson (President of the HfMT) and Prof. Martin Köttering (President of the Hamburg Academy of Graphic Arts / HFBK).



Sandra Hülsmann
Telefon: +49 40 350 60-8357