×

Login

Skip to main content

Social involvement has a tradition at our bank going right back to the 16th century, and it remains very important to us.

Corporate responsibility & sponsoring


Golf

Berenberg has been involved in golf for a long time. With the Berenberg Gary Player Invitationals in Wentworth (UK) and GlenArbor (USA), the Bank is the main sponsor of the world's most successful charity golf tournament series. A team of top-class brand ambassadors ensures attention at the important tournaments worldwide:

Bernhard Langer - The most successful German golfer won the Masters in Augusta in 1985 and 1993 and was the only player worldwide to win 11 Senior Masters, most recently the British Senior Open 2019.

Fred Couples - The 1992 Masters winner was the first American to head the world rankings. Since 2010 he has been playing on the Champions Tour and has won two more major victories there.

Mark O’Meara – The member of the World Golf Hall of Fame has won two major tournaments, the Masters and the British Open, and spent almost 200 weeks in the top 10.

Gary Player - The South African has won 165 tournaments in his career, including 9 Major Championships on the regular PGA Tour and 9 Majors in the Senior Tour.

Tom Watson - The American won the British Open five times, was successful twice at the Masters and once at the US Open. In addition, he had five major wins in the seniors.

> Berenberg and Golf


Polo - The “sport of kings”

Favoured by the British royals, polo is often called the “sport of kings”. It is a fascinating game that is attracting more and more interest. It is also the fastest and probably the oldest team sport - the game's beginnings go back 2,600 years.

Berenberg has been active in polo as a sponsor in the world of polo since 2001. The first tournament took place on the premises of the Hamburg Polo Club in Klein Flottbek. Since then Berenberg has been the main sponsor of numerous tournaments in Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, Munich, Stuttgart, Donaueschingen and Klosters (Switzerland).

In 2015, the bank also took over the patronage of the Berenberg German Polo Masters on Sylt, one of the most famous German polo tournaments. It is held annually on the first weekend in August on the polo field in Keitum and attracts up to 10,000 visitors.

> Berenberg German Polo Masters Sylt


Berenberg Bank Foundation

Patronage is a tradition among Hamburg families and companies and it is no accident that Hamburg is Germany’s leading city for foundations. Berenberg has supported many initiatives over its long history. Cultural diversity and a vibrant cultural life are indispensable elements in the attractiveness of a city, and need a constant flow of new talent.

Accordingly, on the occasion of the bank’s 400th anniversary, the owners set up the Berenberg Bank Foundation. As a patron of art and culture, this non-profit foundation contributes to making Hamburg a desirable place to live, and focuses on talented young artists.

Berenberg Culture Prize

Every year, the Foundation awards the Berenberg Culture Prize to artists, ensembles, projects and institutions across the gamut of cultural activities - visual and performing arts, literature, music and film. The Foundation has helped 100 young artists so far.


BerenbergKids Foundation

In 2007 our employees started the “Berenberg Kids” initiative. They wanted to use the advantages they had enjoyed or achieved, like good education, financial security and good networks, to help disadvantaged and needy kids. The Foundation focuses on supporting social institutions and organisations like schools, primarily in Germany and England. Together with employees of the Bank we provide assistance and organise projects every year.

The great success and sustained dedication of Berenberg staff encouraged the Bank’s Partners to turn the initiative into a foundation, leading to the establishment of the Berenberg Kids Foundation in late 2009.

The Foundation focuses on supporting social institutions and organisations like schools, primarily in Germany and England. Together with employees of the Bank we provide assistance and organise projects every year.

×

Login

Skip to main content

Die Übernahme gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung hat in unserem Unternehmen eine lange Tradition. Sie lässt sich bis ins 16. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen. Auch heute engagieren sich Unternehmen und Mitarbeiter in vielen Bereichen.

Engagement & Sponsoring


Golf

Berenberg engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren im Profi-Golf. Mit den Berenberg Gary Player Invitationals in Wentworth (UK) und GlenArbor (USA) ist die Bank Hauptsponsor der weltweit erfolgreichsten Charity-Golfturnierserie. Ein Team hochkarätiger Markenbotschafter sorgt für Aufmerksamkeit bei den wichtigen Turnieren weltweit:

Fred Couples - Der Masters-Sieger von 1992 führte als erster Amerikaner die Weltrangliste an. Seit 2010 spielt er auf der Champions Tour und hat dort zwei weitere Major-Siege errungen.

Bernhard Langer - Der erfolgreichste deutsche Golfer gewann 1985 und 1993 das Masters in Augusta sowie als einziger Spieler weltweit elf Senior Masters, zuletzt die British Senior Open 2019.

Gary Player - Der Südafrikaner hat in seiner Karriere 165 Turniere gewonnen, darunter neun Major Championships auf der regulären PGA Tour und neun Majors bei den Senioren.

Mark O’Meara – Das Mitglied der World Golf Hall of Fame hat mit den Masters und den British Open zwei Major-Turniere gewonnen und war insgesamt fast 200 Wochen in den Top-10.

Tom Watson - Der Amerikaner gewann fünfmal die British Open, war zweimal beim Masters und einmal bei den US Open erfolgreich. Dazu kamen weitere fünf Major-Siege bei den Senioren.

> Golfsport bei Berenberg


Polo  – Das „Spiel der Könige“

Polo wird wegen der aktiven Spieler insbesondere des britischen Königshauses oft das „Spiel der Könige“ genannt. Es ist aber auch eine faszinierende Sportart, die immer mehr Fans in ihren Bann zieht. Es ist zudem die schnellste und wohl auch älteste Mannschaftssportart – die Anfänge des Spiels reichen 2.600 Jahre zurück.

Seit 2001 ist Berenberg im Polosport als Sponsor aktiv. Das erste Turnier fand auf dem Gelände des Hamburger Polo Clubs in Klein Flottbek statt. Seitdem war Berenberg Hauptsponsor von zahlreichen Turnieren in Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, München, Stuttgart, Donaueschingen und Klosters (Schweiz).

2015 hat die Bank auch das Patronat über die Berenberg German Polo Masters auf Sylt übernommen, das wohl bekannteste deutsche Poloturnier. Es findet jährlich am ersten Augustwochenende auf dem Poloplatz in Keitum statt und lockt bis zu 10.000 Besucher.

> Berenberg German Polo Masters Sylt

> Video ansehen


Berenberg Bank Stiftung

Mäzenatisches Engagement hat in Hamburger Familien und Unternehmen Tradition; nicht ohne Grund gilt Hamburg als Stiftungshauptstadt in Deutschland. Berenberg hat in seiner langjährigen Geschichte zahlreiche Initiativen unterstützt. Kulturelle Vielfalt und ein reges Geistesleben sind als wesentliche Standortfaktoren einer lebendigen Stadt unverzichtbar und brauchen qualifizierten und talentierten Nachwuchs.

Deshalb haben die Inhaber der Bank zum 400-jährigen Jubiläum der Firma die Berenberg Bank Stiftung gegründet. Sie will als Partner von Kunst und Kultur mit ihrer gemeinnützigen Arbeit einen Beitrag zur Attraktivität Hamburgs leisten. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Förderung junger und begabter Künstler.

Berenberg Kulturpreis

Die Stiftung vergibt neben Stipendien jährlich den Berenberg Kulturpreis an Künstler oder Ensembles. Berücksichtigt wird das ganze Spektrum kultureller Aktivitäten: Bildende und Darstellende Künste, Literatur, Musik und Film. 100 junge Künstlerinnen und Künstler hat die Stiftung bisher gefördert.

> Download Stiftungsbroschüre

> Video


BerenbergKids Stiftung

Im Jahre 2007 entstand aus dem Kreis der Mitarbeiter von Deutschlands ältester Privatbank die Initiative „BerenbergKids“. Die Mitarbeiter wollten ihnen zuteil gewordene oder selbst erarbeitete Privilegien wie eine fundierte Ausbildung, finanzielle Sicherheit oder ein weit verzweigtes Netzwerk einsetzen, um sozial benachteiligten sowie bedürftigen Kindern und Jugendlichen zu helfen.

Der große Erfolg und das anhaltende Engagement der Mitarbeiter haben die Inhaber der Bank dazu veranlasst, die Initiative in eine Stiftung zu überführen und somit Ende 2009 die „BerenbergKids Stiftung“ ins Leben gerufen.

Der Schwerpunkt der BerenbergKids Stiftung liegt in der Unterstützung sozialer Einrichtungen und Organisationen sowie Schulen, überwiegend in Deutschland und England. Gemeinsam mit Mitarbeitern der Bank führen wir Hilfsmaßnahmen durch und organisieren jedes Jahr eigene Projekte.