×

Login

Skip to main content

ESG - Investing responsibly

At Berenberg, ESG investment strategies take into account Environmental (E), Social (S) and Governance (G) issues on top of traditional fundamental issues such as micro and macroeconomic information. “ESG investing”, in essence, is a term that is used synonymously with “ethical screening”, “sustainable and responsible investing” and even with “impact investing”.

Berenberg ESG Office

To define our ESG principles and strategy, to position ESG investments, to develop and increase the range of ESG products on offer and to integrate ESG into the investment process, we have set up a separate department, the Berenberg ESG Office.

Ethical screening

Many of our clients have their own range of specific ethical criteria through exclusions lists. We have developed strategies and resources to ensure that our investment process can be tailored to their pre-defined values or beliefs.

Sustainable and responsible investing

Companies are evaluated and screened based on their ESG risk and sustainability credentials with a particular emphasis on scrutinizing controversial business practices.

Impact investing

Selection of companies with the intention to generate returns alongside social and environmental impact.

ESG investing is also about understanding companies and countries from a sustainable investment perspective. By addressing ESG issues in our investment decisions, we support to create positive outcomes for the environment and society. The topics that are commonly considered in the E,S and G categories are:

Environmental

  • Climate change
  • Environmental pollution
  • Deforestation
  • Eco-friendly technologies
  • Greenhouse gas emissions

 

Social

  • Working conditions
  • Health and security
  • Fair trade products
  • Employee relations and diversity
  • Support local communities

 

Governance

  • Briberey and corruption
  • Compensation structure
  • Board diversity and structure
  • Cyber-security
  • Anti-competitive practices

ESG at Berenberg

We understand the value of integrating ESG factors into our investment decisions in order to better manage material ESG risk in our portfolios. We believe that engagement is very important and part and parcel of ESG integration. Our highly experienced portfolio managers actively engage with companies on ESG issues in order to understand company behaviour better, especially their potential growth drivers and to hopefully influence them on being better on sustainability topics. We also integrate ESG factors to ensure that our portfolios contain companies that are fully sustainable.

Berenberg is a signatory to the United Nations supported Principles for Responsible Investment (UNPRI) since August 2018.

ESG Consulting

We support you in specific ESG fields of action and provide you with compre­hensive support regarding the imple­mentation of your individual sustainable invest­ment strategy. Our range of services includes assis­tance in the formulation of ESG policies and invest­ment guide­lines as well as regulatory issues. We also offer training on general and specific ESG content.

Read more

Berenberg ESG Investments

At Berenberg we have managed sustainable strategies for decades. We also offer various other ESG-integrated strategies in both quantitative and discretionary methods, across the asset classes in which we invest (equity and fixed income).

Our Berenberg Sustainable World Equities invests worldwide in companies that make a positive impact on the environment and society through their products and services, taking into account Berenberg ESG values. The selection of the companies is carried out "bottom-up", i.e. based on fundamental company data. Correspondingly, the companies should demonstrate above-average structural growth and be able to generate long-term sustainable earnings. In addition, the business model and key business metrics needs to be compelling. The focus is on detailed discussions with analysts and company representatives.

To funds overview

Our Berenberg Sustainable EM Bonds strategy aims to select particularly USD-denominated emerging market sovereign bonds under sustainability aspects and by means of an active, quantitative investment process. This systematic, transparent investment process enables an admixture of ESG-compliant companies from the emerging markets, in addition to a selection of sustainable states with strong fundamentals. The portfolio is under ongoing risk management through active control and if desired static hedging against currency risk vis-a-vis the euro.

To funds overview

The “Berenberg 1590 Stiftung” is a broadly diversified Multi Asset Fund, investing in various asset classes like bonds, equities (max. 25%) and alternative investments (max. 10%). In total, equity investments and alternative investments are limited to 30%. The fund is focused on foundation-specific aspects and Berenberg sustainability criteria, which are essential within the selection process. An active tactical asset allocation, duration and allocations by region and by sector are derived from macroeconomic, fundamental and technical indicators. The investment strategy is implemented via individual securities, investment funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) with a focus on Europe. Derivatives can be added for hedging purposes or to optimize returns. The share class is distributing, with distributions taking place on a semi-annual basis.

To funds overview

ESG in equity funds

Read brochure


Berenberg ESG Policy

The Berenberg ESG Policy provides an overview of our ESG philosophy as well as the integration approach of ESG within our Investment Processes.

> More on our Berenberg ESG Policy

Berenberg ESG Exclusion Policy

This policy provides a better understanding and clarity on how we choose our Berenberg ESG Exclusion Criteria.

> More on our ESG Exclusion Policy

Berenberg Proxy Voting Policy

The Berenberg Proxy Voting Policy is a set of guidelines meant to give an indication of how we would typically recommend on voting.

> More on our Berenberg Proxy Voting Policy

Engagement Policy

This policy describes how we conduct active dialogue with companies.

> More on our Berenberg Engagement Policy


Head of ESG Office
Dr. Rupini Deepa Rajagopalan
Phone +49 69 91 30 90 -513
rupinideepa.rajagopalan@berenberg.com

ESG Office
Till Schultis
Phone +49 69 91 30 90-492
till.schultis@berenberg.com

Senior Consultant
Frederic Waterstraat
Phone +49 40 350 60-411
frederic.waterstraat@berenberg.de

Was ist ESG?

„ESG“ steht für „Environmental (E), Social (S) and Governance (G)“, zu Deutsch „Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung“, und damit synonym für klimaschonendes und sozial verantwortliches Investieren. Die Basis dieses Investmentansatzes bilden traditionell fundamentale und makroökonomische Faktoren. „ESG-Investing“ ist ein Begriff, der synonym für Ausschlusskriterien, nachhaltiges und verantwortliches Investieren und „Impact Investing“ verwendet wird.

Ausschlusskriterien

Viele unserer Kunden fassen ihre spezifischen ethischen Kriterien in Ausschlusslisten zusammen. Wir haben Strategien und Ressourcen für einen maßgeschneiderten Anlageprozess entwickelt, der die individuellen Werte und Überzeugungen unserer Kunden berücksichtigt.
Nachhaltig und verantwortungsvoll Investieren
Unternehmen werden anhand von ESG- und Nachhaltigkeitskriterien bewertet und selektiert. Dabei werden insbesondere auch kontroverse Geschäftspraktiken beleuchtet.
Impact Investing

Selektive Auswahl von Unternehmen beziehungsweise Investments, die mit der Absicht getätigt werden, zusätzlich zum finanziellen Ertrag eine positive gesellschaftliche und ökologische Wirkung zu erzielen.

ESG-Investing bedeutet auch, Unternehmen und Länder aus einer nachhaltigen Anlageperspektive zu hinterfragen. Indem wir ESG-Kriterien in unseren Investmententscheidungen berücksichtigen, machen wir uns stark für unsere Umwelt und die Ziele unserer Gesellschaft. Die wichtigsten Kriterien in den Kategorien E, S und G im Überblick:

Environmental
(Umwelt)

Klimawandel

Umweltverschmutzung

Waldrodung

Umweltfreundliche Technologien

Treibhausgasemissionen

Social
(Soziales)

Arbeitsbedingungen

Gesundheit und Sicherheit

Fair-Trade-Produkte

Arbeitnehmerverhältnis und Diversity

Lokale Gemeinschaften

Governance
(Unternehmensführung)

Bestechung und Korruption

Vergütungsstruktur

Struktur der Kontrollgremien

Cybersicherheit

Unlautere Geschäftspraktiken

ESG bei Berenberg

Wir verstehen die ESG-Integration in unsere Anlageentscheidungen als Wertvorteil, um grundlegende Risiken in unseren Portfolios besser zu managen. Aus unserer Sicht ist dieses Engagement sehr wichtig und ein maßgeblicher Bestandteil der ESG-Integration. Unsere erfahrenen Portfoliomanager suchen aktiv das Gespräch mit dem Unternehmensmanagement. ESG-Aspekte werden gezielt thematisiert, um das Unternehmensverhalten, insbesondere die potenziellen Wachstumstreiber, nachzuvollziehen und in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit eine Verbesserung zu erreichen. Darüber hinaus stellen wir durch die ESG-Integration sicher, dass unsere Portfolios vollständig nachhaltige Unternehmen enthalten.

Berenberg gehört seit August 2018 zu den Unterzeichnern der von den Vereinten Nationen unterstützten Grundsätze für verantwortliches Investieren (UN Principles for Responsible Investment – UNPRI)

„Es ist wichtig, dass wir ESG-Faktoren in unsere Entscheidungsfindung einbeziehen, um die wesentlichen Risiken und Chancen unserer Investments zu verstehen.“

Leiterin ESG Office Dr. Rupini Deepa Rajagopalan

Berenberg ESG-Investmentprozess

Bei Berenberg integrieren wir ESG-Faktoren in die Investmententscheidungen für ein effizientes Risikomanagement und eine langfristig nachhaltige Rendite.


Berenberg ESG-Investments

Berenberg betreut seit vielen Jahrzehnten Nachhaltigkeitsmandate für seine Kunden. Hinzu kommen weitere ESG-konforme Produkte auf der Basis sowohl quantitativer als auch diskretionärer Methoden in den von uns adressierten Anlageklassen (Aktien und Anleihen).

Der „Berenberg Sustainable World Equities“ investiert weltweit in Unternehmen, die mit ihren Produkten und Services positiven Einfluss auf unsere Umwelt und Gesellschaft nehmen. Dabei legen wir die Berenberg ESG-Kriterien zugrunde. Die Auswahl der Unternehmen erfolgt nach dem Bottom-up-Ansatz, also auf Basis der Fundamentaldaten. Beim Anlageprozess achten wir deshalb darauf, dass ein Unternehmen sowohl über ein überdurchschnittliches strukturelles Wachstum verfügt als auch langfristige und nachhaltige Gewinne erwirtschaftet. Außerdem müssen uns das Geschäftsmodell sowie die wichtigsten Finanzkennzahlen überzeugen. Darüber hinaus liegt unser Fokus auf ausführlichen Gesprächen mit Analysten und Unternehmensvertretern.

Fondsübersicht

Der „Berenberg Sustainable EM Bonds“ zielt darauf ab, unter nachhaltigen Gesichtspunkten sowie mittels eines aktiven, quantitativen Investmentprozesses insbesondere USD-denominierte Schwellenländeranleihen zu selektieren. Mithilfe des systematischen und transparenten Investmentprozesses erfolgt neben der Auswahl nachhaltiger und fundamental starker Staaten eine Beimischung ESG-konformer Unternehmen aus den Emerging Markets. Das Portfolio unterliegt einem fortlaufenden Risikomanagement durch aktive Steuerung und einer statischen Absicherung des Fremdwährungsrisikos gegenüber Euro.

Fondsübersicht

Der „Berenberg 1590 Stiftung“ ist ein vermögensverwaltender Multi-Asset-Fonds. Das Portfolio setzt sich hauptsächlich aus Anleihen sowie maximal 25% Aktien und maximal 10% Alternative Investments zusammen. In Summe sind Aktien und Alternative Investments auf 30% begrenzt. Der Fonds berücksichtigt stiftungsspezifische Aspekte. Die Erfüllung der Berenberg-Nachhaltigkeitskriterien ist Bedingung bei der Titelauswahl. Abgeleitet aus makroökonomischen, fundamentalen und technischen Indikatoren werden die Investitionsquoten, die Kapitalbindungsdauer sowie die regionale beziehungsweise sektorale Allokation aktiv gesteuert. Die Umsetzung der Anlagestrategie erfolgt vor allem über Einzelwertinvestments, Fonds und Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Europa. Derivate können zu Absicherungszwecken oder zur Ertragsoptimierung beigemischt werden. Der Fonds ist ausschüttungsorientiert, wobei die Ausschüttungen halbjährlich erfolgen.

Fondsübersicht

News: Berenberg ESG

Berenberg  in der  9. Ausgabe des TELOS Kompendiums
BERENBERG ESG | 25.04.2019
Berenberg in der 9. Ausgabe des TELOS Kompendiums
Integration von ESG-Ausschlusskriterien in unseren Investmentprozess
BERENBERG ESG | 31.03.2019
Integration von ESG-Ausschlusskriterien in unseren Investmentprozess
Berenberg ESG-Paper: Die Bedeutung der SDG für nachhaltige Investments
BERENBERG ESG | 03.12.2018
Berenberg ESG-Paper: Die Bedeutung der SDG für nachhaltige Investments
Berenberg-Preis für unternehmerische Verantwortung geht an Ritter Sport
BERENBERG ESG | 27.09.2018
Berenberg-Preis für unternehmerische Verantwortung geht an Ritter Sport
Berenberg unterzeichnet Grundsätze für verantwortliches Investieren
BERENBERG ESG | 30.08.2018
Berenberg unterzeichnet Grundsätze für verantwortliches Investieren
Zurück in die Zukunft:  Unsere Studie zur künftigen Bedeutung von Nachhaltigkeit aus 2010
BERENBERG ESG | 03.07.2018
Zurück in die Zukunft: Unsere Studie zur künftigen Bedeutung von Nachhaltigkeit aus 2010

ESG-Ausschlusskriterien

Die Berenberg ESG Exclusion Policy bietet ein besseres Verständnis und Klarheit darüber, wie wir unsere ESG-Ausschlusskriterien auswählen.
ESG-Ausschlusskriterien

ESG-Grundsätze

Die Berenberg ESG-Grundsätze geben einen Überblick über unsere ESG-Philosophie sowie über die Integration von ESG in unsere Investmentstrategien.
ESG-Grundsätze

Berenberg ESG Office

Das Berenberg ESG Office ist verantwortlich für die Definition unserer ESG-Grundsätze und -Strategie, für die Positionierung der ESG-Investments, für die Entwicklung und Aufstockung angebotener ESG-Produkte sowie für die ESG-Integration in den Investmentprozess.

Leiterin ESG Office
Dr. Rupini Deepa Rajagopalan
Telefon: +49 69 91 30 90 -513